Absence makes the heart grow fonder

Early morning delicacies

Strawberries for a good cause

 

Today is the annual Mary Potter Hospice fundraising day with strawberries and icecream as the lure to donate. For $5 you can get a very generous serving of strawberries topped with delicious strawberry sauce and icecream. We shouldn’t really expect to get anything in return for a donation, but there you are, it’s an event and it gets people out of their offices supporting a very very worthy cause. And today, of all days the strawberry sellers deserved our support on what was possibly the windiest day this year. I might have had a little extra grit in my ice-cream, but I didn’t notice.

I always step out to support the hospice…not only because of what they do, but also because the hospice was home to my mother for the last couple of months of her life and we so appreciated the love and caring she received there. The hospice staff are just the best!

As I cheerfully selected my bowl of strawberries – the biggest fruits of course – I looked for a place to sit and as I did so the music on the load speakers changed.

“Absence make her heart grow fonder, while I’m conquering the last frontier, lately I’ve found myself wondering out loud.. one day you’ll understand how much you have me…”

Now, I know this is a love song, and it’s written about a girlfriend – but for some reason every time I listen to it it brings tears to my eyes as I think about all the people I’ve lost in my life. I think I was meant to hear it, I was meant to sit a while with my strawberries and reflect on the importance of people we love whether or not they’re still with us.

One thought on “Absence makes the heart grow fonder

  1. msevelj

    Reflecting on the ones you love that you have lost is so important. This sounds like it was a special experience for you. Love you xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

