Daily starting block

Wellington bus

Wellington bus speaks

Everywhere you look these days, there are messages. They’re called advertising…and are totally in your face whether you like it or not.

This one, taken out of the context of ‘Go Wellington’ makes me feel as if I’m on a starting block. Not as if I don’t feel that way already. Every day at about 5.45am I position myself on the starting block just by getting out of bed. And it’s a race to get everything done before I walk out the front door at my self imposed deadline of ‘no later than 7.40’. And all because I like to park in the same parking spot every day – I don’t mind if I’m one or two places over – but any more than that, and my balance is thrown. Thankfully a relationship with one of my fellow parkers George, has grown over the years (he also parks in the same spot but has reserved his!) and he looks after me. He’s put a cone in ‘my’ space giving other parkers the impression that it’s also reserved. Most are taken in by it and avoid the space, but some aren’t.

I don’t think I’m obsessive/compulsive, but I absolutely am a creature of habit.

I eat the same breakfast every day, make myself the same sandwich, grab an apple, and have two cups of black coffee at some stage of the morning. Oops, the first cup is at about 7.55am. I wear the same kit when I’m out walking the dog. Now, does this sound sad or what?

I’d like to be able to vary my routine, to be less organised and less predictable but he truth is, I’m a Virgo and I was pre-destined to be this way. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

