Strangers no more

In the zone

We started the week as strangers – we are now no longer and also have the common bond of having shared an awesome experience.

It was so fantastic having a whole week to focus on just one thing! Such a rare treat.

From day one to six we all embraced the opportunity with commitment and enthusiasm. We adopted several mantras…straight from the mouth of Fleur.

“Show us your tonsils”

“Go hard or go home”

“If I don’t ask you to do anything, it’s because you’re doing what I want”

“Be hilarious”

“God is in the detail”

We shared a lot of laughter and a few tears. We helped each other resolve indecision. We gave support and encouragement, we bent and twirled our bodies in the name of art, we crawled along the floor, climbed stairs, ran, skipped, jumped … we learned a little of what it was like to be in front of the lens – and a lot about being behind it.

We learned the gentle art of persuasion, were privileged to observe intimate moments develop between photographer and model, and learned (also from observation) how to direct movement in the subtlest of ways.

Weeks like the one I’ve just experienced make a life-long impact.

We (or I) learned so much about photography and about how important it is to strive to capture special moments. I learned that it might take hours to do so…and a lot of clicking. I learned how different it is when the emotional connection between the subject and the photographer is evident and how much difference it makes to the picture. And I learned how to recognise that picture – ‘God is in the detail’.

I’m learning to be kinder to myself.

I’ve begun another journey…

And I know that those with whom I shared the week will be there to help should I need them.

Leave a Reply

