Lesson on passion from Patrick Swayze

Patrick Swayze and wife Lisa Niemi

I was given a book for Christmas that I probably wouldn’t have bought myself. I would have picked it up and glanced at the photographs within for sure. It was Patrick Swayze’s autobiography The Time of my Life’.

Don’t get me wrong, I really admired the guy and particularly loved watching him dance. He had a beautiful physique and undoubted charisma. He was gorgeous…and I was so sad when news broke about his battle with pancreatic cancer, and then his untimely death.

Dirty Dancing was one of those movies I consider one of my all time favourites, along with Flashdance. The PianistMoonstruck, Gloomy Sunday and several others. OK – out of those he only featured in one, but I think you get the drift. I love dance, music, struggles against adversity and schmaltz

I’ve just finished reading Time of my Life. It is an amazing story of Swayze and his wife Lisa’s quest to take their passion for dance and for acting as far as they possibly could. In his case, he endured incredible pain from a number of serious injuries dating back to high school days. Injuries he never really recovered from, but persevered on nonetheless. There appears no doubt that had he been free from injury his career might have been different for his first passion was in ballet.

Whatever challenge he undertook, he gave it his absolute all. He wasn’t born with a silver spoon in his mouth, and there were times he and Lisa really struggled financially. Throughout all their very real struggles they never gave up on each other or their passions.

Time of my Life was a great reminder of the importance of never giving up – on anything! If we have a passion we should let the flame burn and nurture it – keep it alive.

Leave a Reply

