Perfectly suited to peacocks

Fabric designers have tried to replicate this

When I took these photographs, the song below immediately came to mind…

“I see my wife, my Golde, looking like a rich man’s wife
With a proper double-chin.
Supervising meals to her heart’s delight.
I see her putting on airs and strutting like a peacock.
Oy, what a happy mood she’s in.
Screaming at the servants, day and night.”

You have to have observed peacocks to really appreciate the sentiment expressed in ‘If I was a rich man’ from Fiddler on the Roof. It sums up the peacock perfectly and as I sing it to myself, I can see Tevye on stage imitating the strut. (I’ve always loved singing this song – it doesn’t matter that I haven’t got a beard or a bass voice! I can do the accent and know it by heart.)

There’s nothing quite like the strut of the peacock knowing he’s the focus of attention and preening himself. Such arrogance!

Why on earth was such beauty given to the male of the species? The vibrancy of colour in their feathers, the incredible patterns and then the sheer size of their crowing glory. It just doesn’t seem fair…

Beauty if not everything though…these guys have not the most amiable of manners! Get to close to them and they’ll give you your comeuppance with a sharp peck.

This guy knows he's beautiful

These peacocks roam the grounds surrounding Warsaw’s Lazienki Palace in the park bearing the same name – unexpected hosts when you consider that the park is in the centre of the city. They’ve probably roamed there for centuries. (Lazienki Park is the crowning glory of Warsaw – it was spared during the bombing of Warsaw in World War 11 – and is magnificent.)

I was mesmerised by the peacocks (as they would want me to be) and needless to say, took heaps of photographs! I just love the colours…

Leave a Reply

