Grief 102 – on hard decisions

Chewing on an ill-gotten pigs ear!

This week we had to make one of the hardest decisions ever before us. To take life away from our adored ‘buddy’ Toby – a beautiful, loyal, gentle-natured and cuddly 14 year-old samoyed.

I shed copious tears before and many many more since.

We’ve been incredibly touched by messages on Facebook and notes from friends, including this one which was in our letter box this afternoon.

A Dog’s Prayer

If it should be that I grow weak

and pain should keep my from my sleep

Then you must do what must be done

For this last battle cannot be won.

You will be sad, I understand

Don’t let your grief then stay your hand

For this day more than all the rest

Your love for me must stand the test.

We’ve had so many happy years

What is to come can hold no fears

You’d not want me to suffer so

The time has come, please let me go.

I know that in time you will see

The kindness that you did for me

Although my tail its last has waved

From pain and suffering, I’ve been saved.

Please do not grieve, it must be you

Who has this painful thing to do

We’ve been so close, we two, these years

Don’t let your heart hold back its tears.

Rest in peace dear friend…

Enjoying the sea breeze with his trademark smile
One thought on “Grief 102 – on hard decisions

  1. Pingback: The silver lining « Striding out

Leave a Reply

