A thought on passion

If food be the passion...

Friends and family were sharing brunch at the Rosehip Cafe in Auckland recently. By chance I met an old school friend.  She lives nearby in Wellington but our paths don’t often cross. When they do, we’re always glad to see each other. There’s genuine warmth and pleasure in meeting.

My friend lost her husband in a car accident many years ago when her three children were just toddlers. It was horrific. Needless to say, she was totally devastated. I’ll never forget seeing her at the funeral so consumed by grief  she was barely able to walk.

She’s a very beautiful woman. Each time I see her I’m struck by how gorgeous she is. Never any make-up, flawless skin, naturally blonde hair, tall and slender with a stand-out smile. She has dealt with her tragedy by turning it into a strength. She has followed the path of natural healing, sharing her time between Wellington and Auckland.

When asked, I told her that I’d left my safe government job and am looking to replace it with one that I can feel more passionate about. She greeting my decision with enthusiasm and replied with this philosophical thought:

“If there is no passion in your life, then have you really lived? Find your passion, whatever it may be, and let it become you and you will find great things happen FOR you, TO you and BECAUSE of you.”

I’m going to hold that thought!

Leave a Reply

