Ba humbug!

Meringues through the oven door. Dollop of cream? Too right!

Did I really need to listen to the radio a few minutes ago? One thing for sure – it’s off now – and my Christmas is ruined!!!

Some well-meaning nutritionist asked this question from a caller:

“Do two tablespoons of cream have:

a. 60 calories and 6 grams of fat, or

b. 120 calories and 12 grams of fat?”

The caller replied, “B”.

“Correct,” said the nutritionist with a smile in her voice.

And there I was, planning on making meringues for the Christmas feast, perfect for our gluten-free guest but not so good for ‘he who’s on a diet.’ The dilemna as I see it is, do I tell him how dangerous it is to indulge in the cream-filled meringues or do I keep this dreadful knowledge to myself?

The caller informed our nutritionist that she is going to serve her Christmas pavlova with yoghurt…all in  the interests of good health. My feeling – go without rather than bastardise the humble Pav. It should not be compromised.

And nor should meringues –  I’ll keep my mouth shut on both counts.

Leave a Reply

