Christmas spirit

Work in progress ...

It’s taken me a while to get into the Christmas spirit this year, and with only three sleeps away from the big day the spirit is finally creeping up on me.

The reason for my delay in feeling the spirit?

I think it’s because for the past two months I’ve been out of the work force – at home – alone. Not even my darling dog for companionship anymore. No more leaving the house early to beat the peak hour traffic, no camaraderie, no discussions about Christmas activities or holidays, no sharing good gift ideas, no morning coffees, no Christmas lunches – in short, none of the usual Christmas build-up. I haven’t even had to battle my way through Christmas shoppers during precious lunch hours.

Instead of hearing the sounds of carols being busked on the city streets, I’m listening to Band of Horses.

So what is my point here?

We fuel each other with Christmas spirit. It’s there because we unwittingly encourage each other to feel it and be part of it.

I’m feeling the spirit now because in the past few days I’ve given home-made gifts to friends and that small act makes me feel good.

Leave a Reply

