Optimist or pessimist?

Wellington's neon light sculpture in Post Office Sq - beautiful by day, even more so at night.

I’ve been pondering this question all day – am I an optimist or pessimist?

Optimism is defined as ‘hopefulness and confidence about the future or the success of something’.

Pessimism is ‘the lack of hope or confidence in the future.’

I’ve decided that even though my self-critic often takes control and offers all sorts of reasons not to do something, my friends and family overrule self-doubt with their support and encouragement – and they win!

Optimism wins!

I look at my children, young adults now. If I were a pessimist, they would not be who they are. They could not be who they are.

Optimism is what propels us forward, giving us the willingness to take risks – encouraging us to look on the bright side. I know I use my parents as an example in much of my writing … only because they deserve it.

My father came to New Zealand having lost all but one of his family in the Holocaust. He could have chosen pessimism and buried himself in a self-indulgent mire. In the face of his suffering, many would have forgiven him for that. But he was an optimist … he married, started a business, started a family, became involved in sport and community; he accomplished everything he set out to do. And above all else, he was loved, loved by everyone.

He was an optimist.

I am an optimist.

Leave a Reply

