Would you give your dog mouth-to-mouth?

Toby - the only food he ever pinched was Aunty Paula's legendary plum plonk cake!

On the news tonight we learned that a dog owner had saved his pet labrador’s life by administering mouth to mouth resuscitation.

His dog had come inside and began foaming at the mouth and gagging before becoming unconscious.

The owner tried performing the Heimlich manoeuvre (difficult to do on a dog!) while his wife ran to call the local vet. The dog vomited – the usual sort of stuff that labs inhale – plant matter, food matter, everything – but remained unconscious.

The owner clasped his pet’s snout and began mouth to mouth. After five breaths the dog responded.

The rest is history – we saw the lovely pet wagging his tale and heard how he hasn’t left his owner’s side since.

If you’ve read my blogs back in November 2010, you’ll know that our beloved dog died back then. I was totally devastated … I hadn’t realised that I would feel such pain. As the life left his body I clung to him and didn’t want to let go – ever. He was part of our family, we loved him. Only other pet owners can really appreciate what this means.

As the story of this man and his pet unfolded, I wondered, “Would I have done the same?” And the answer is that I don’t know. I’d like to say that of course I would…but I don’t know if I would have had the same presence of mind to ignore the difference between two legs and four.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

