Further note to 16-year-old self …

We're not all so perfect ...

Yesterday I posted a very long blog What would I say to my 16-year-old self? There was one very important message  I omitted, feeling that it would be better read on its own own.

It’s been spinning round in my head and I’ve been wondering how to word it without sounding preachy or pompous. You see, I’ve not always been very good dealing with it. I know the theory, but even in knowing it and acknowledging it, failure still really knocks me.

Don’t be afraid of failure. Failure is an opportunity to learn – learn how you went wrong, where you went wrong, how you could do better, what you should do next time.

You have to be prepared to pick yourself up and get on…

I’ve had a fair bit of success in my life.

I’ve also had a fair bit of failure and haven’t always been able to rise above it. Some I’ve taken really personally which has been to my own detriment. If I had the chance to do it all again knowing what I know now, of course I’d do it differently otherwise I wouldn’t have learned anything!

I’d know that the failures and disappointments can work to my advantage.

So 16-year-old self, failures will help you understand how important whatever you didn’t succeed in really was.

Failures will help you understand what you need to do better to succeed.

Turn failures into opportunities and they will make you stronger.

Leave a Reply

