What I would like to accomplish with this blog

A picture taken while striding out...Civic Square, Wellington

The most common question – it seems – related to blogs is ‘What is your blog for?’

I’ve struggled with this one. I don’t have any lofty intentions – I’m not here to change the world.

I don’t have an overriding theme either … I chose the name ‘Striding out’ because this is how I approach each day.

Most often my day begins with a fast-paced early morning walk – with the stride as long as my shortish legs can carry me. Until late last year I was accompanied by  Toby. He set the pace when he was a puppy, often dragging me into bushes in pursuit of a cat or two. In his later years (he lived to the ripe old age of 14) I would be dragging him.

Nowadays my companion is an iPod or iPhone tuned into a podcast or whatever music takes my fancy. This is when my ideas begin their gestation! Some don’t make it very far.

‘Striding out’ also gives me license, by virtue of its name to link photographs – however tenuous the link – to my subject of the day. Some days the photographs are my subject … something will spark my attention, I’ll capture it, and then see where thoughts take me.

My original intention with blogging was just to write about what’s going on in my life (if I think its interesting), whats going on around me, what’s going on around our city, and what’s happening in our country. I don’t claim to be an authority on anything, but will willingly pass on anything I find interesting.

I have also taken to recording memories, those important to our family.

I love writing and hope that blogging helps me refine my skills and find my voice. Some days I feel like Eliza Doolittle from My Fair Lady “By George, she’s got it!”  Then there are the days when I’m really disappointed with my efforts and after publishing, want to send them to the trash bin.

I just hope that someone, anyone, finds what I write interesting enough to return. I know I write far too much – I find it difficult to stop.

Having signed up to Postaday 2011, the challenge is on.

Leave a Reply

