Daily challenge: What I’ve lost …

Lost then found - unscathed!

I’m very pleased to say that I’ve lost nothing recently – unless you count the car parking ticket I lost briefly this morning. I was busy devising strategies for exiting the carpark (closed to the public on a Saturday) when it magically turned up in my wallet – phew!

I posted an article some time ago on losing (and finding) things. In the absence of any recent loss – apart from hair follicles, sanity and self-esteem, I’ll revisit it.

“I can’t believe it! Seriously, I just can’t believe my luck.

Yet again, I’ve lost a precious piece of jewellery – a gift from my son – only to have it turn up again. This is not the first time.

There was the time many years, when after taking my son to rugby practice Kilbirnie, I realised I’d lost my mother’s string of pearls. I’d dropped him at the field and gone back in to town to shop for a sewing pattern. I was only in the shop a matter of minutes before heading back to my car and rugby practice.

When I realised my pearls were no longer around my neck I was devastated. There’s no other word for it. Losing possessions that I’ve bought is bad enough, but to lose something of my mother’s was upsetting beyond belief.

I did all the usual things – filed a report at the police station, retraced my steps again and again and again. Rang the store first thing in the morning and then when that was unsuccessful, placed a ‘lost’ ad in the ‘Evening Post’ even though I was convinced I’d never see them again.

Two days later I received a phone call from an elderly gent who’d noticed the necklace on the footpath by the bus stop outside Kirkcaldies. He picked them up and took them home with the thought the owner would be sure to advertise. He’d seen my notice in the newspaper. The sense of relief was immense and I was unbelievably grateful. I cried and cried.

Even though I offered a reward – he’d have none of it.

There was also the time, at the Tauherenikau Races, when I lost a gold link bracelet my partner had given me. I felt sick to the pit of my stomach the whole day, and spent most of it scouring the long grass between the car park and our picnic area to no avail.

When we finally arrived back in Karori after 9.00pm that night I suggested we have one final look at the money machine where I’d withdrawn some cash about 12 hours earlier.

There, lying on the edge of the footpath hanging over the gutter was my bracelet! I could go on….

Today, at lunchtime I noticed my silver and onyx bracelet was no longer on my wrist. I’d gone for a long lunchtime walk and was at the other end of town. Feeling sick yet again – as you do – I back-tracked following my exact route.

When I arrived back at work, I decided to have one last look in the café where I’d sat with my long black at 8.15am. As soon as I walked in, they knew the reason for my visit and placed the bracelet carefully in my hands. They’d been waiting. It had been found on the floor underneath the chair on which I’d been sitting.”

Since this was written I confess to losing an earring – a diamond earring, my mother’s diamond earring! Earrings are notorious for disappearing. I’ve lost so many in my time …

I’d been at the hairdressers that day, I’d also been trying on clothes in Country Road.

I retraced my steps – Country Road first! They just looked at me as if to say “Stupid cow – serves you right for wearing diamond earrings!” I frantically searched the floor of the fitting room, and the two on either side, and the area outside the fitting room. Nada!

Then I went back to my hairdresser, Sable. They’d already swept the floor, hadn’t noticed any stray diamonds lurking among the cuttings. I looked in the mirror and chastised myself. How could I have sat there for nearly two hours (colouring as well you understand) and not noticed that I was lop-sided! Only one earring..

When I arrived back at work I searched the floor around my desk, the floor in the Ladies washroom, the floor in the meeting rooms – everywhere.

I felt sick. Downcast. Upset. Mad at myself … mostly sick.

Despondency sat with me for the remainder of the day.

I arrived home later and changed into my comfy ‘at home’ clothes. As I was removing what was left of my jewelry I noticed a little diamond, lying all on its own in the dish. It had never even made it to my ear that morning – I’d been lop-sided all day!!!

One thought on “Daily challenge: What I’ve lost …

  1. Joss

    there’s something very special about finding something, precious to us, that was lost. You do seem to have a knack for lost and found! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

