Weekly photo challenge: Mine

Early morning tulips

The cup of coffee is already gone – it’s no longer original. Besides, in previous posts I’ve already stressed the importance of my first cup of coffee in my daily routine.

And you know I like striding out!

But what you don’t know is that I snuck out of bed extremely early last Sunday morning, just so I could stride down to Wellington’s Botanic Gardens and photograph the gorgeous display of tulips without anyone else being there. I wanted them all to myself – mine, mine, mine!

I absolutely loved wandering through the gardens with only the birds, the magnificent trees, my favourite magnolia blooms – which never last very long in Wellington winds – rhododendrons, camellias, cherry and apple blossoms, and the bright and beautiful tulips for company.

The birds were singing their glorious songs of daybreak for me, and for me alone.

The pleasure was intense and it was all mine.

Even better than coffee … that came later.

Leave a Reply

